Report on Joint Symposium of the Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences & WPI-ICReDD in Hokkaido University

Conference Name

Joint Symposium of the Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences & WPI-ICReDD in Hokkaido University

Sponsors

Institute for Chemical Reaction Design and Discovery (WPI-ICReDD) Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences

■ Date & Time

Date: Sep 15th (Thu), 2022

Time: 13:00~18:00

Place

Web conference (Zoom)

Participants

Registered participants: 134 On line participants: 120

Contents

Six researchers from ICReDD and six professors from the Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences were invited as speakers to give lectures in English, intending to new research development based on interdisciplinary exchange between ICReDD and the Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences. They delivered meaningful presentations with active question and answer sessions. The speakers were as follows.

- 1) Hiroki Hayashi (Experimental Sciences, WPI-ICReDD/JST-ERATO)
- 2) Masahiro Kojima (Synthetic and Industrial Chemistry, Fac. of Pharm. Sci.)
- 3) Kosuke Higashida (Experimental Sciences, WPI-ICReDD)
- 4) Kimiko Kuroki (Biomolecular Science, Fac. of Pharm. Sci.)
- 5) Sheng Hu (Information Sciences, WPI-ICReDD)
- 6) Mikako Ogawa (Molecular Imaging, Fac. of Pharm. Sci.)
- 7) Shinya Tanaka (Experimental Sciences, WPI-ICReDD)
- 8) Yuma Yamada (Molecular Design of Pharmaceutics, Fac. of Pharm. Sci.)
- 9) Min Gao (Computational Sciences, WPI-ICReDD)
- 10) Koichi Fujiwara (Organic Chemistry for Drug Development, Fac. of Pharm. Sci.)
- 11) Nobuya Tsuji (Experimental Sciences, WPI-ICReDD)
- 12) Akira Katsuyama (Medicinal Chemistry, Fac. of Pharm. Sci.)

Program

13:00 - 13:10	Opening remarks
	Prof. Satoshi Maeda, Director, WPI-ICReDD
	Prof. Satoshi Ichikawa, Vise Dean, Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences
13:10	Session 1 (Chair: Tsuyoshi Mita) 15 min talk and 5 min discussion
13:10 - 13:30	Hiroki Hayashi (Experimental Sciences, WPI-ICReDD/JST-ERATO)
	Reaction simulation by quantum chemical calculations for multicomponent
	reactions with difluorocarbene
13:30 – 13:50	Masahiro Kojima (Synthetic and Industrial Chemistry, Fac. of Pharm. Sci.)
	Silane- and peroxide-free hydrogen atom transfer hydrogenation using
	ascorbic acid and cobalt-photoredox dual catalysis
13:50 – 14:10	Kosuke Higashida (Experimental Sciences, WPI-ICReDD)
	Design of cooperative catalysts for nucleophilic addition of O -nucleophiles
	toward alkynes
14:10 – 14:30	Kimiko Kuroki (Biomolecular Science, Fac. of Pharm. Sci.)
	Structures and receptor recognition mechanism of immune inhibitory
	HLA-G molecules
14:30 – 14:50	Sheng Hu (Information Sciences, WPI-ICReDD)
	Data representations for deep learning and chemistry-related applicationsshort break: 10 min
15:00	Session 2 "Cancer session" (Chair: Tetsuya Taketsugu) 25 min talk and 5 min
13.00	discussion
15:00 – 15:30	Mikako Ogawa (Molecular Imaging, Fac. of Pharm. Sci.)
15.00 15.50	Cancer targeted phototherapy, based on photo-chemical reaction
15:30 – 16:00	Shinya Tanaka (Experimental Sciences, WPI-ICReDD)
	Analysis of regulatory mechanism of plasticity towards cancer stemness by
	hydrogels
	Service 2 (Chair Tetrahiles Westing) 15 min (all and 5 min discovering)
16:10	Session 3 (Chair: Tatsuhiko Yoshino) 15 min talk and 5 min discussion
10:10 – 16:30	Yuma Yamada (Molecular Design of Pharmaceutics, Fac. of Pharm. Sci.)
	Validation of therapeutic strategies using mitochondrial drug delivery systems
16:30 – 16:50	Min Gao (Computational Sciences, WPI-ICReDD)
	Importance of systematic searching for computational catalysis

16:50 – 17:10	Koichi Fujiwara (Organic Chemistry for Drug Development, Fac. of Pharm. Sci.) Design and synthesis of benzene congeners of resolvin E2 as its stable equivalents
17:10 – 17:30	Nobuya Tsuji (Experimental Sciences, WPI-ICReDD) Predicting highly enantioselective catalysts using tunable fragment descriptors
17:30 – 17:50	Akira Katsuyama (Medicinal Chemistry, Fac. of Pharm. Sci.) Stereoisomerism of chalcogen isologues of a sterically hindered benzamide
17:50	Closing remarks Dr. Tsuyoshi Mita, Specially Appointed Associate Prof., WPI-ICReDD